A birthday card for Sofia

Tomorrow would have been my daughter Sofia’s second birthday. It’s difficult to know what to do.

Last year we went to the cemetery with a cheerful ‘You’re 1!’ balloon and I let out some of my emotions in a birthday card. Some time after that I came across things other people do and I felt guilty that I hadn’t thought of any of them (have a birthday cake, let off balloons, go to a special place). Even now I’m struggling to remember many.

I searched for a card for her today. I wanted one with a ‘two’ on it. Not surprisingly it wasn’t easy to find one without overly cheerful words like ‘smiles’ and ‘lovely surprises’. I settled for this:

Two today...

Wishing you hugs and kisses
now that you are two
and wonderful birthday wishes
especially for you

Leave a Reply

