Mothers’ Day


The first Mothers’ Day after Sofia died I was very upset that Roberto didn’t mention it or wish me a happy Mothers’ Day. At the end of the day I couldn’t keep it inside any longer. He hadn’t said anything because he didn’t want to upset me.

I AM a mother. I may no longer have a child to mother, but I was a mother from the time Sofia was conceived and I gave birth to the most gorgeous daughter imaginable. But it’s often not enough to know myself: I need other people to acknowledge that I am a mum.

A few days ago Roberto asked me if I wanted a card for Mothers’ Day. I replied honestly that him just wishing me a happy Mothers’ Day would be enough. He did give me a card today and it did make me cry, but they were feeling-loved tears rather than sad tears.

Wishing all the mothers without children a love-filled Mothers’ Day.

2 responses to “Mothers’ Day

  1. I’m a mom and I sincerely wish you a Happy Mother’s Day. My mom died 2 weeks ago and I am feeling pretty sad right now. This will be my first Mother’s Day without mom.

Leave a Reply

