Putting things away


Today I put your things away.

It made me sad to feel your little clothes and booties,

to play your musical toys,

to dismantle your cradle,

to realise that you’ll never wear those clothes,

never sleep in that cradle,

never see your room that we prepared so excitedly for you.

But it was time to put them away.

The room looks the way I feel now, bare and empty.

But it’s time to go on.

Time to make plans.

You know I’ll always love you my little girl.

I’ll miss you and I’ll never forget you.

You’re in my heart

~ Margaret Wheeler

Leave a Reply

