Choosing positivity

Over the last few days I’ve been thinking a lot about positivity, mainly because I’ve been more aware of the effects being negative has on other people. It’s much easier to see this when you’re observing someone else.

I wasn’t aware of it at the time, but I now realise I grew up in a tense environment with lots of negativity. Naturally I’m more of a pessimistic person (although I’ve done many things in my life other people would be too afraid to do).

More so lately, Roberto’s most common piece of advice for me is to lighten up. For quite some time after Sofia died, I didn’t want to, but with time it’s becoming less difficult to be more positive about the future and not feel guilty about enjoying life again. And, of course, there’s also the important fact that your attitude can affect your health.

Trying to live in the present moment, rather than regretting the past or worrying about the future, is helping me to lighten up. But I’ve now also realised the importance of having positivity around me, not just encouraging it in myself. This goes hand in hand with realising I don’t have to rely only on myself to move forward with my life, but that allowing others to give me support can make my forward steps easier.

Having pessimistic people around you can drain the positive energy you’ve worked to create. While optimistic people send out happiness and light, pessimists send out negativity that can easily infect others, causing fear or a lack of trust or being judgmental.

In the end, every person has to decide for themself whether or not to enjoy life; after all you have to create your own happiness. And be aware what you’re sending out to others.

“Freedom is what you do with what’s been done to you.” ~ Jean Paul Sartre

Leave a Reply

