My battle scars

It has been said, ‘time heals all wounds.’ I do not agree. The wounds remain.
In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue
and the pain lessens, but it is never gone.

~ Rose F. Kennedy

Some people’s scars are very visible to the outside world, others’ are not. There are times when I wish my scars could be seen by others.

Some of my scars have faded with time, some will remain engraved deeply into my soul until I die, and some I keep hidden even from myself.

Sometimes I try to be more vulnerable and show people my scars, but more than not I then build the walls protecting my scars even higher. Walls of resistance that end up isolating me.

Sometimes I can physically feel the scars, physically feeling them crippling me. They can feel like a poisoned arrow lodged deep in my heart.

Perhaps I should think of my scars as battle scars and be proud of them, knowing without them I may not have had the strength to fight.

Be proud of your scars. They remind you that you have the will to live.
~ Paulo Coelho

Leave a Reply

