Remembering

Go ahead and mention my child,
The one that died, you know.
Don’t worry about hurting me further
,
The depth of my pain doesn’t show.
Don’t worry about making me cry,
I’m already crying inside.
Help me to heal by releasing
The tears that I try to hide.
I’m hurt when you just keep silent,
Pretending she didn’t exist.
I’d rather you mention my child,
Knowing that she has been missed.
You ask me how I am doing.
I say “pretty good” or “fine”
.
But healing is something ongoing.
I feel it will take a lifetime.

~ Elizabeth Dent


3 responses to “Remembering

  1. Words that express the heart . . . filled with such truth . . . thank you for sharing. Blessings

  2. Thank you for visiting Rebecca and Joy x

Leave a Reply

